Daniel Ellsberg, “The Most Dangerous Man in America” – YouTube

Daniel Ellsberg, “The Most Dangerous Man in America” – YouTube.

I should, of course, have mentioned the Vietnam War as one of the biggest proven conspiracies in my tirade against Nick Harding’s naive attack on conspiracy theories. If you haven’t watched “The Pentagon Papers” or seen the documentary “The Most Dangerous Man in America“, I strongly urge you to do so. Meanwhile, I came across this interview of Dan Ellsberg conducted recently in the context of the 40th anniversary of his disclosure of the scandal. Riveting.

The most shocking conclusion Ellsberg reaches emerges from a survey conducted just before Nixon was re-elected. Two Thirds of the American people turned out to support the “Nuremberg Defence” (“I was only following orders”) and not only argued that it had been wrong to prosecute and convict the American war criminal (and patsy) Lieutenant William Calley for his part in the infamous My Lai Massacre but that, by the same token, those Gestapo and SS butchers who took part in the Holocaust should also have been excused if they were “only following orders”.

This is the most disturbing evidence of the widespread support for authoritarianism I have ever come across. And, as Ellsberg makes clear, the evidence is that nothing much has changed in public attitudes in recent years.

About Harry Stottle
Refugee from the Stumbleupon Blogicide of October 2011 Here you will find my "kneejerk" responses to the world and what I happen to bump into. For my more detailed considerations and proposals, please visit my website or my previous main blogging site.

One Response to Daniel Ellsberg, “The Most Dangerous Man in America” – YouTube

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

