Mozilla outs un-Google site sign-in prototype • The Register

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/07/15/mozilla_browser_id/

this looks quite useful but a couple of questions haven’t been addressed.

1 – How does it cope with the fact that some of us use multiple workstations.

2 – the example shows how to login but I saw no logout option. Implying, once we’re in, we’re in forever!

the criticisms in the comments page are ignoring the context. This isn’t supposed to be an alternative to secure password access control. Where that is required, it’ll still require a secure password. It is largely a means of ensuring that we’ve got some form of cross session continuity and minimal accountability. That solves about 95% of web authentication issues. It’s mainly when money or other “serious” security risks that we need more.

About Harry Stottle
Refugee from the Stumbleupon Blogicide of October 2011 Here you will find my "kneejerk" responses to the world and what I happen to bump into. For my more detailed considerations and proposals, please visit my website or my previous main blogging site.

Leave a comment